Prof. Bai honored with John Rinehart Award


Prof. BAI Yilong has received the 2007 John Rinehart Award for his seminal contributions to the theories of shear-band formation and damage in materials and for his leadership in dynamic behavior of materials in China.

Named after John S. Rinehart, a pioneer to the field of dynamic deformation of materials, this award was established in 1990 to recognize outstanding effort and creative work in the science and technology of dynamic processes in materials. Prof. Bai is the first Chinese winner of the prestigious award since its establishment.

The 2007 award was announced at the annual meeting of the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) held from 25 February to 1 March in Orlando, Florida. It was conferred to Prof. Bai by Marc A. Meyers on behalf of TMS on 18 September in Beijing.

Prof. Bai, a member of CAS and European Academy of Sciences, now serves as chairman of the academic committee of the State Key Laboratory of Non-Linear Mechanics, CAS. He has scored significant progress in the studies of impact dynamics, damage mechanics and multi-scale problems, and has published about 150 papers and two research books: Adiabatic Shear Localization, Pergamon Press (1992) and Ductile Fracture and Ductility, Academic Press (1987).